clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

N’Golo Kanté named Football Writers’ Player of the Year

N’Golo Kanté continues to pick up well-deserved recognitions for a most impactful and masterful season at Chelsea, following up his almost (equally?) as impactful and masterful season last year at Leicester City.

The Chelsea midfielder was named the PFA Players’ Player of the Year two weeks ago — that’s the award voted on by his peers — and now he’s been named the Football Writers’ Player of the Year as well — that’s the award, as one would expect based on the name, voted on by the various football journalists.

Just like Hazard in 2014-15, Kanté’s now won both the PFA and the FWA award.

“N'Golo Kante could not be a more deserving winner of English football's most prestigious individual award.”

“In the view of some FWA members, he would have been a worthy recipient last season for his contribution to Leicester's title success, but the almost unbroken excellent form of Chelsea since he changed clubs has left little room for further debate. Considering the competition of Eden Hazard and other players from Chelsea in particular, this is a great achievement.”

-Patrick Barclay; source: FWA

Will he make it a trifecta at the end of the month with a Chelsea Player of the Year as well?

Hazard himself finished second this season with Spurs’ Dele Alli sneaking in at third. Other Chelsea players who received votes include Diego Costa, David Luiz, and César Azpilicueta.

Congrats, N’Golo!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History