clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Chelsea, four Spurs players named to PFA Team of the Year

The PFA Team of the Year has been released this morning, and unsurprisingly it’s dominated by players from the two best teams over the course of the season, Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur. The first and second placed teams in the table currently each had four players named, while lone representatives from Manchester United, Liverpool, and Everton round out the eleven.

The four Chelsea players selected are David Luiz (for the first time ever), N’Golo Kanté (for the second), Gary Cahill (for the third), and Eden Hazard, who’s been named to the team in all but one of his five seasons in England. It’s not quite the dominance like in 2014-15 when Chelsea saw six players named (Ivanović, Terry, Cahill, Matić, Hazard, Costa), but it’s pretty close.

The 2016-17 PFA Team of the Year in full:

GK — David de Gea (Manchester United)
D — Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur)
D — Gary Cahill (Chelsea)
D — David Luiz (Chelsea)
D — Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur)
M — Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
M — N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea)
M — Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur)
M — Sadio Mané (Liverpool)
F — Romelu Lukaku (Everton)
F — Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

The individual awards for Player of the Season and the like will be revealed on Sunday at the annual PFA Awards.

Meanwhile, Chelsea’s Karen Carney and Eni Aluko were both selected into the FA WSL1 Team of the Year.

Congrats to all!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History