clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chelsea duo nominated for PFA Player of the Year award

It’s getting to be that time of the year, awards season. This morning, the Professional Footballer’s Association (PFA) announced their nominees for Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year — the ones voted on by fellow professionals; not to be confused by the Fans’ Player of the Year or the Football Writers’ Player of the Year.

As expected, both Eden Hazard and N’Golo Kanté have made the cut.

It’s a rather impressive list of nominees, with Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku, and Alexis Sanchez making up the rest of the six total. Hazard won this award two seasons ago while Kanté lost out to his then teammate Riyad Mahrez last season. There’s a decent chance that a similar fate awaits him this season.

Meanwhile, the so-called Young Player of the Year nominees are dominated by not so young or inexperienced players. Nominating seasoned professionals like Lukaku or Kane for this award is surely a joke. Other nominees include Dele Alli, who won it last season, plus Michael Keane, Jordan Pickford, and Leroy Sane.

Chelsea received a couple nominations on the women’s side as well, with Karen Carney and Millie Bright making the list for Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year, respectively.

Chelsea last won this award two seasons ago as well, with Ji So-yun collecting it in 2014-15. Chelsea have never won the Young Player of the Year, though these awards have only been handed out since 2013.

Good luck to all four Blues!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History