clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Conte, Kanté, Lampard scoop top honors at London Football Awards

Thursday night, the Willow Foundation held their annual London Football Awards (LFA), recognizing the best of the best when it comes to football in London, and raising lots of money for a good cause.

Chelsea have been among the winner regularly, as one might expect, with Eden Hazard winning LFA Men’s Player of the Year honors in both 2014 and 2015, Ji So-yun and Eni Aluko winning LFA Women’s Player of the Year honors in 2015 and 2016, respectively, Thibaut Courtois winning Goalkeeper of the Year in 2015, and John Terry winning a lifetime achievement award last year as well.

This year’s winners include Antonio Conte and N’Golo Kanté, plus Frank Lampard getting recognized for his legendary career.

Other nominees for manager of the year included Mauricio Pochettino (Spurs), Slaviša Jokanović (Fulham), Neil Harris (Millwall), and Neal Ardley (Wimbledon).

Kanté beat out fellow Blue Diego Costa, as well Alexis Sánches and Spurs duo Dele Alli (who won young player of the year) and Danny Rose. Meanwhile, Thibaut Courtois lost to Hugo Lloris for Goalkeeper of the Year, while no less than three Chelsea Ladies players (Eni Aluko, Katie Chapman, and Karen Carney) lost out to Arsenal’s Jordan Nobbs for Women’s Player of the Year.

And there was Lampard’s recognition. At least they waiting to give him this award until after his retirement, unlike with John Terry last year.

Congrats to all the winners!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History