clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Marcos Rojo will not be charged by The FA for stamping on Eden Hazard

WTF again

The English Football Association have decided against charging Marcos Rojo for the stamp he administered to Eden Hazard’s chest in the latter stages of Chelsea’s 1-0 win over Manchester United in the FA Cup quarterfinal Monday night. Yes, this is real.

The FA’s reasoning amounts to the usual nonsense about referee Michael Oliver having “seen” the incident but deciding not to do anything about it. And yet, over three years ago the rules were changed specifically to allow The FA leeway to charge players in such obvious instances.

This enables The FA to consider acts of violent conduct, like an elbow or a stamp, which have occurred after a challenge for the ball or coming together of players.

-Darren Bailey, FA Director of Governance, Nov 2013

Except in this obvious case, for whatever reason, regardless of Mr. Oliver may or may not have seen. What a joke.

Manchester United did get charged with failing to control their players after surrounding and barracking the referee in the 35th minute following Ander Herrera’s quite justified red card.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History