clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Atlético Madrid, Champions League: Confirmed lineups

New, comments
Chelsea FC v Atletico Madrid - UEFA Champions League Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

At last! Time to clinch that sweet top place in the Champions League, while knocking out one of the tournament’s main contenders AND bringing home the second leg of the Champions League’s first play-off round.


Chelsea starting lineup (3-5-2):

Courtois | Cahill, Christensen, Azpilicueta | Zappacosta, Bakayoko, Kanté, Fàbregas, Moses | Hazard, Morata

Substitutes from: Caballero, Rüdiger, Alonso, Drinkwater, Pedro, Willian, Batshuayi

Atlético Madrid starting lineup (4-4-2):

Jan Oblak | Filipe Luis, Lucas Hernández, Stefan Savic, José Giménez | Saúl Ñiguez, Gabi, Thomas Partey, Koke | Antoine Griezmann, Fernando Torres

Substitutes from: Moyá, Godin, Vrsaliko, Carrasco, Correa, Vietto, Gameiro


Date / Time: Tuesday, December 5, 19:45 GMT; 2:45pm EST: 1:15am IST (next day)

Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6

Referee: Danny Makkelie.

On TV: BT Sport 3 (UK); Fox Sports regional networks + affiliates, ESPN Deportes+ (USA); Sony TEN 2 (India); elsewhere

Streaming online: BT Sport Live (UK); Fox Soccer Match Pass, ESPN3 in select markets (USA); Sony LIV (India)


Antoine Griezmann’s return to form, with 4 goals and 2 assists recorded by the Frenchman since Atlético’s 2-0 win over Roma two weeks ago, is a scary prospect. Still, to be the best, you need to beat the best; and Chelsea are ought to do so tonight.

COME ON YOU BLUES!