clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Brighton, Premier League: Confirmed lineups

New, comments
Chelsea v Brighton and Hove Albion - Premier League Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images

We’re at the halfway point of the season.

The festivities are done.

Back to the football.

Here we go.


Chelsea starting lineup (3-5-2):
Courtois | Rüdiger, Cahill (c), Azpilicueta | Alonso, Bakayoko, Kanté, Fàbregas, Moses | Hazard, Morata

Substitutes from: Caballero, Zappacosta, Ampadu, Drinkwater, Pedro, Willian, Batshuayi

Brighton & Hove Albion starting lineup (4-5-1):
Ryan | Suttner, Dunk (c), Duffy Schelotto | Izquierdo, Kayal, Propper, Stephens, March | Hemed

Substitutes from: Krul, Bruno, Goldson, Knockaert, Groß, Murray, Baldock


Date / Time: Tuesday, December 26, 2017, 15.00 GMT; 10am EST; 8:30pm IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Mike Dean
On TV: none (UK); none (USA); Star Sports Select HD2 (India); elsewhere
Streaming online: NBC Sports Gold (USA); Hotstar (India)


Chelsea back in the 3-5-2 as expected, with Bakayoko preferred over Drinkwater in midfield and both Cahill and Rüdiger starting with Christensen missing entirely from the matchday squad (presumably injured or ill). Cahill takes the center spot.

UPDATE: Chelsea confirm illness.

Brighton meanwhile leave both Groß and Knockaert on the bench. Their defensive intentions are pretty clear from that.

COME ON, CHELSEA!