clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Champions League Round of 16 draw: Chelsea to face PSG, Barcelona or Besiktas

New, comments
UEFA Champions League Draw Photo by Jamie McDonald/Getty Images

Time to find out Chelsea’s fate for the Champions League Round of 16. UEFA will conduct the draw at 12pm CET (11am GMT; 6am EST), with Chelsea looking at three possible opponents out of the 8 groups winners.

  1. Barcelona (44% chance)— winners of Group D, where Juventus finished second, Sporting third, and Olympiacos last. Barca were unimpressive away from home (just 1 goal scored though no defeats) but they finished with the best defensive record (just 1 goal conceded) of any team in the group stage.
  2. PSG (28% chance) — pipped Bayern to the top spot in Group B and feasted on Celtic and Anderlecht to notch 25 goals in the 6 group games. Neymar + Mbappe + Cavani is a ridiculous combination.
  3. Besiktas (28% chance) — the “easiest” draw, at least on paper, they beat hipster trio Porto, Leipzig, and Monaco, in that order, to the top spot in Group G. Along with Barcelona, Spurs, and Liverpool, there went unbeaten in the group stage.
  4. Roma, Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool, Tottenham Hotspur are all ineligible to face Chelsea in the next round.

Should be fun either way.

The draw will be on BT Sport 2 (UK) and Fox Sports 1 (USA) and their associated streaming services. It will also be available streaming for free on UEFA’s official YouTube channel — it does not support embedding, so you’ll have to click here for that.