clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Manchester United, Premier League: Confirmed lineups

New, comments
Chelsea v Manchester United - Premier League Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images

Big game ahead, and big changes on home side as well.

Here we go.


Chelsea starting line-up (3-5-2):
Courtois | Cahill (c), Christensen, Azpilicueta | Alonso, Fàbregas, Bakayoko, Kanté, Zappacosta | Hazard, Morata

Substitutes from: Caballero, Rudiger, Ampadu, Drinkwater, Willian, Pedro, Batshuayi

Manchester United starting line-up (3-4-1-2):
De Gea | Smalling, Jones, Bailly | Young, Matić, Ander Herrera, Valencia (c) | Mkhitaryan | Lukaku, Rashford

Substitutes from: Romero, Blind, Darmian, Fellaini, McTominay, Lingard, Martial


Date / Time: Sunday, November 5, 2017, 16:30 GMT; 11:30am EST; 10pm IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Anthony Taylor
On TV: Sky Sports Premier League (UK); NBCSN (USA); Star Sports Select HD1 (India); elsewhere
Streaming online: Sky Go (UK); NBC Sports Live Extra, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA); Hotstar (India)


N’Golo Kanté’s return to Chelsea’s midfield is certainly the biggest (and best) news, and he joins a three-man midfield for Chelsea in a 3-5-2 look, similar to how the Blues lined up against Atlético Madrid. There is also Andreas Christensen getting the nod over David Luiz, who’s been carrying a minor injury and looks to have missed out completely on this game because of it.

UPDATE: Conte says it was a tactical decision and wanted to give a young player like Ampadu the spot on the bench instead.

Meanwhile, former Chelsea boss José Mourinho is opting to go with the same 3-4-1-2 tactic and line-up that saw his side beat Tottenham Hotspur last weekend.

It will be a clash for the ages.

COME ON, CHELSEA!