clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

AS Roma vs. Chelsea, Champions League: Confirmed lineups

New, comments
AS Roma v Bologna FC - Serie A Photo by Paolo Bruno/Getty Images

Both Chelsea and AS Roma look for a fourth successive victory as the second half of the Champions League group stage schedule gets under way.

Chelsea would guarantee a spot in the knockout rounds with a win, but a loss would blast open the group, with Roma on 8, Chelsea on 7, and Atletico, presumably, on 5 points (they play Qarabag at home at the same time).

A draw would do as well, with the Blues facing Qarabag (away) next.\

Here we go.


AS Roma starting lineup (4-3-3):
Alisson | Kolarov, Jesus, Fazio, Florenzi | Strootman, De Rossi (c), Nainggolan | Perotti, Dzeko, El Shaarawy

Substitutes from: Skorupski, Pellegrini, Moreno, Under, Gonalons, Gerson, Manolas

Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Courtois | Cahill (c), David Luiz, Rudiger | Alonso, Bakayoko, Fabregas, Azpilicueta | Hazard, Morata, Pedro

Substitutes from: Caballero, Drinkwater, Kenedy, Zappacosta, Willian, Batshuayi, Christensen


Date / Time: Tuesday, October 31, 2017, 19:45 GMT; 3:45pm EDT; 1:15am IST (next day)
Venue: Stadio Olimpico, Rome, Italy
Referee: Jonas Eriksson
On TV: BT Sport 2 (UK); Fox Sports 2 (USA); Sony SIX (India); elsewhere
Streaming online: BT Sport Live (UK); Fox Soccer Match Pass (USA); Sony LIV (India)


Conte opts for the 3-4-3 as we might’ve guessed following his comments about the 3-5-2 two weeks ago. Azpilicueta plays right wing-back in a more defensive look while Rudiger starts in his stead in the the back three.

Big test for Fabregas and Bakayoko to keep it together in the middle.

Roma are playing a makeshift defence with Manolas out and Florenzi as right back, but the rest of their team looks strong.

COME ON, CHELSEA!