clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Liverpool, Premier League: Confirmed lineups

Welcome to the Friday night lights.  It's going to be ... fun?

---

Chelsea starting lineup (4-1-4-1/4-3-3):
Thibaut Courtois | César Azpilicueta, David Luiz, Gary Cahill, Branislav Ivanović (c) | N'Golo Kanté | Eden Hazard, Nemanja Matić, Oscar, Willian | Diego Costa

Substitutes from: Asmir Begović, Ola Aina, Marcos Alonso, Cesc Fàbregas, Pedro, Victor Moses, Michy Batshuayi

Liverpool starting lineup (4-3-3):
Simon Mignolet | James Milner, Dejan Lovren, Joël Matip, Nathaniel Clyne | Georginio Wijnaldum, Jordan Henderson (c), Adam Lallana | Philippe Coutinho, Daniel Sturridge, Sadio Mané

Substitutes from: Loris Karius, Lucas Leiva, Kevin Stewart, Divock Origi, Alberto Moreno, Ovie Ejaria, Marko Grujić

---

Date / Time: Friday, September 16, 2016, 20:00 BST; 3pm EDT; 12:30am IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Martin Atkinson
On TV: Sky Sports 1 (UK); NBCSN, NBC Universo (USA); Star Sports 4 / Select HD1 (India);elsewhere
Streaming online: Sky GO (UK); NBC Sports Live Extra, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA); Chelsea TV, LFCTV (int'l radio)

---

As expected, Chelsea are unchanged other than the enforced switch at the back to hand David Luiz his second debut.

Liverpool will be without Roberto Firmino, who picked up a groin strain.  Former Blue Daniel Sturridge gets the start instead, with Coutinho back as well.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History