clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Werder Bremen vs. Chelsea, Preseason Friendly: Confirmed lineups

New, comments

Welcome to the last preseason friendly of the summer, the Papy Djilobodji memorial match.

Let's enjoy.

---

Werder Bremen starting lineup (4-4-2):
Felix Wiedwald | Leon Guwara, Luca Caldirola, Niklas Moisander, Janek Sternberg | Sambou Yatabaré, Clemens Fritz (c), Zlatko Junuzovic, Fin Bartels | Claudio Pizarro, Max Kruse

Substitutes from: Jaroslav Drobny, Florian Kainz, Lennart Thy, Izet Hajrovic, Ulisses Garcia, Fallou Diagne, Johannes Eggestein, Maximilian Eggestein, Lukas Fröde

Chelsea starting lineup (4-3-3?/4-2-3-1?/4-2-4?):
Thibaut Courtois | César Azpilicueta, John Terry (c), Gary Cahill, Branislav Ivanović | Nemanja Matić, N'Golo Kanté, Oscar | Eden Hazard, Diego Costa, Willian

Substitutes from: Asmir Begović, Jamal Blackman, Michael Hector, Ola Aina, Nathaniel Chalobah, Cesc Fàbregas, Pedro, Victor Moses, Juan Cuadrado, Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Bertrand Traoré, Michy Batshuayi

---

Date / Time: Sunday, August 7, 2016, 14:00 BST; 9am EDT; 6:30pm IST
Venue: Weserstadion, Bremen, Germany
On TV: Chelsea TV (UK); CBS Sports Network (USA) — here's a channel finder for this obscure network; none (India); elsewhere
Streaming online: Chelsea TV (UK & int'l — unless covered by local rights); CBS Sports Digital (USA)

---

Tough to tell how Chelsea will line up.  Could be a 4-2-3-1, with Matic & Kante in the middle and the usual front four from the Premier League-winning season.  Could be a 4-3-3 with Oscar in the middle.  Could be a 4-2-4 with Oscar as second striker and Hazard & Willian on the wings.  I supposed we'll just have to wait and see.

UP THE CHELS!