clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Bristol Rovers, League Cup: Confirmed lineups

New, comments

Fortunately, retro is in fashion these days.  So better dig out those radios and dial in Chelsea TV, because this one's not on the TV.  Video may have killed the radio star, but the League Cup 2nd round killed the video star.

Imagination time!

---

Chelsea starting lineup (4-4-2):
Asmir Begovic | Cesar Azpilicueta, Branislav Ivanovic (c), Gary Cahill, Ola Aina | Victor Moses, Nemanja Matic, Cesc Fabregas, Pedro | Michy Batshuayi, Ruben Loftus-Cheek

Substitutes from: Thibaut Courtois, John Terry, Nathaniel Chalobah, Oscar, Eden Hazard, Dominic Solanke, Diego Costa

Bristol Rovers starting lineup (4-2-3-1):
Steve Mildenhall | Lee Brown, Peter Hartley, Tom Lockyer, Dan Leadbitter | Ollie Clarke, Stuart Sinclair | Luke James, Chris Lines, Billy Bodin | Ellis Harrison

Substitutes from: Will Puddy, Jermain Easter, James Clarke, Cristian Montano, Ryan Broom, Matty Taylor, Rory Gaffney

---

Date / Time: Tuesday, August 23, 2016, 19:45 BST; 2:45pm EDT; 12:15am IST (next day)
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Keith Stroud
On TV: none (Chelsea TV will have delayed broadcast at some point in the next 24-48 hours.)
Streaming online: Chelsea TV (int'l radio); Gas PlayerHD (int'l radio)

---

A few changes from Cheslea, including a shift to the 4-4-2/4-2-4 with RLC playing one of the forwards as he often did in preseason.  Matic and Fabregas start in the middle while JT is the one defender who sits in favor of Aina.  Youngsters Chalobah and Solanke (!) are on the bench.

UP THE CHELS!