clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Liverpool, Preseason friendly: Confirmed lineups

New, comments

Pre-season gets taken up a notch today as Chelsea take on rivals Liverpool.  While most of England sleeps, America gets ready to party, International Champions Cup-style.  That "competition" in and of itself is meaningless, but the match itself will have plenty of meaning (beyond just the result, as usual).

Things to watch for will include the Euro 2016 returnees getting their first run-up under Conte-ball, as well as who of the younger players might see some minutes (and in what position).

---

Chelsea starting lineup (4-4-2/4-2-4):
Asmir Begović | César Azpilicueta, John Terry, Gary Cahill, Ola Aina | Victor Moses, Nemanja Matic, Cesc Fàbregas, Willian | Bertrand Traoré, Ruben Loftus-Cheek

Substitutes from: Thibaut Courtois, Baba Rahman, Oscar, Pedro, Kenedy, Juan Cuadrado, Matt Miazga, Michy Batshuayi, Nathaniel Chalobah, Michael Hector, Tammy Abraham, Fikayo Tomori

Liverpool starting lineup (4-2-3-1):
Loris Karius | Alberto Moreno, Dejan Lovren, Ragnar Klavan, Connor Randall | Ovie Ejaria, Marko Grujic | Sadio Mané, Philippe Coutinho, Kevin Stewart | Roberto Firmino

Substitutes from: Alex Manninger, James Milner, Jordan Henderson, Adam Lallana, Cameron Brannagan, Danny Ings, Andre Wisdom, Lazar Marković, Sheyi Ojo, Trent Alexander-Arnold

---

Date / Time: Wednesday, July 27, 2016, 8:35pm PDT; 04:35 BST (next day); 9:05am IST (next day)
Venue: Rose Bowl, Pasadena, CA, USA
On TV: Chelsea TV, LFC TV (UK); ESPN, ESPN Deportes (USA); Sony ESPN (India); elsewhere
Streaming online: Chelsea TV, LFC TV (UK & other countries without TV rights); WatchESPN (USA)

---

Plenty of kids from Liverpool, while Chelsea keep some of the big starts out of the matchday squad (including Hazard and Diego Costa).