clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Rapid Wien vs. Chelsea, Preseason Friendly: Confirmed lineups

New, comments

Now it's time to follow up the exciting news of Chelsea officially singing N'Golo Kanté with Chelsea officially playing the first pre-season match of the summer.  What a day!

As with most pre-season friendlies, the biggest aim is fitness and teamwork.  With the new coach in place, many in the squad should also be looking at this as an audition, though obviously players have training to truly impress Antonio Conte.

---

Rapid Wien starting eleven:
Novota, Schößwendter, Schrammel, Pavelic, M.Hofmann, S.Hofmann, Grahovac, Schaub, Schobesberger, Szántó, Joelinton

Substitutes from: Dibon, Sonnleitner, Strebinger, Auer, Nutz, Schwab, Knoflach, Murg, Tomi, Entrup

Chelsea starting lineup (4-2-3-1/4-3-3):
Asmir Begovic | Baba Rahman, John Terry (c), Papy Djilobodji, Branislav Ivanovic | Nemanja Matic, John Obi Mikel, Ruben Loftus-Cheek | Victor Moses, Diego Costa, Willian

Substitues from: Jamal Blackman, Matej Delac, Michael Hector, Matt Miazga, Ola Aina, Nathaniel Chalobah, Kenedy, Cristian Cuevas, Oscar, Christian Atsu, Bertrand Traoré, Loïc Rémy

---

Date / Time: Saturday, July 16, 2016, 17:00 BST; 12pm EDT; 9:30pm IST
Venue: Allianz Stadion, Vienna, Austria
On TV: Chelsea TV (UK); Puls 4 (AUT); Sky Sports 1 Italia (ITA); elsewhere
Streaming online: Chelsea TV (int'l)

---

Your guess is as good as mine regarding the starting formation.  Three at the back, four at the back, two in midfield, three in midfield ... anything goes until we actually see them in action.

FORZA CHELSEA!