clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Liverpool vs. Chelsea, Premier League: Confirmed lineups

New, comments

Welcome to the penultimate match of the 2015-16 season, the penultimate match of Guus Hiddink's interim tenure, the penultimate match before we can relax and have some summer fun in the sun.  Or something.

Liverpool are firing on most cylinders, Chelsea can barely get the engine started.  This could get ugly.

---

Liverpool starting lineup (4-2-3-1):
Simon Mignolet | Alberto Moreno, Dejan Lovren, Kolo Toure, Nathaniel Clyne | James Milner, Emre Can | Philippe Coutinho, Roberto Firmino, Adam Lallana | Daniel Sturridge.

Substitutes from: Adam Bogdan, Martin Skrtel, Brad Smith, Lucas Leiva, Joe Allen, Sheyi Ojo, Christian Benteke.

Chelsea starting lineup (4-2-3-1):
Asmir Begovic | Baba Rahman, Gary Cahill, John Obi Mikel, Cesar Azpilicueta | Nemanja Matic, Cesc Fabregas | Eden Hazard, Willian, Pedro | Bertrand Traore

Substitutes from: Marco Amelia, Fikayo Tomori, Kenedy, Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Kasey Palmer, Alexandre Pato, Tammy Abraham

---

Date / Time: Wednesday, May 11, 2016, 20:00 BST; 3pm EDT; 12:30am IST (next day)
Venue: Anfield, Liverpool, England
Referee: Michael Oliver
On TV: Sky Sports 2 (UK); NBCSNNBC Universo Premier League Extra Time (USA); Star Sports 1 / HD 1 (India); elsewhere
Streaming online: Sky Go (UK); NBC Sports Live Extra; NBC Deportes En Vivo Extra (USA); Star Sports (India); Chelsea TV (radio, int'l)

---

We said we'd riot if Mikel starts at center back, but check out the youth on the bench!  Three ready for debuts!  Plus Traore gets the start over Pato, which is great.

(Meanwhile, Thibaut Courtois is "feeling unwell" and thus misses out.  Getting sick on your own birthday is fairly fitting for this Chelsea season, to be fair.)

COME ON, CHELSEA!