clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Stoke City, Premier League: Confirmed lineups

New, comments
Ian Walton/Getty Images

It's almost time to say goodbye to 2016 and welcome 2017.

But first!  A Chelsea game, with the Blues going for a 13th league win in a row (and 10th in all competitions).

Here we go.

---

Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):
Thibaut Courtois | Gary Cahill, David Luiz, César Azpilicueta | Marcos Alonso, Cesc Fàbregas, N'Golo Kanté, Victor Moses | Eden Hazard, Diego Costa, Willian

Substitutes from: Asmir Begović, Kurt Zouma, Branislav Ivanović, Nathaniel Chalobah, Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Nemanja Matić, Michy Batshuayi

Stoke City starting lineup (3-4-2-1):
Lee Grant | Bruno Martins Indi, Ryan Shawcross, Glen Johnson | Erik Pieters, Charlie Adam, Ibrahim Afellay, Mame Biram Diouf | Xherdan Shaqiri, Joe Allen | Peter Crouch

Substitutes from: Shay Given, Phil Bardsley, Glenn Whelan, Wilfried Bony, Giannelli Imbula, Bojan Krkić, Ramadan Sobhi

---

Date / Time: Saturday, December 31, 2016, 15:00 GMT; 10am EST; 8:30pm IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Robert Madley
On TV: none (UK); CNBC Premier League Extra Time (USA); Star Sports Select HD1 (India); elsewhere
Streaming online: NBC Sports Live Extra, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA); Star Sports (India); BBC 5 Live (UK; radio); Chelsea TV (int'l; radio)

---

So it's Fàbregas instead of Matić in the middle, the rest as usual.  With Matić on four yellows and probably needed against Spurs next time, it's both a safe (avoid fifth yellow) and a proactive (passing!) move.  David Luiz is in similar danger, but he starts.

Meanwhile, Stoke apparently will match Chelsea's shape, with Afellay making his first start of the season and Peter Crouch retaining his spot from the previous game.

COME ON, CHELSEA!