clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Chelsea players nominated for FIFA FIFPro World XI

Michael Regan/Getty Images

It's awards season at FIFA, which includes the FIFPro World XI alongside the likes of the Best FIFA Men's/Women's Player, Best FIFA Men's/Women's Coach, the Puskás Award, and a couple others.  The "Best FIFA" is the new designation for the overall awards presented to the world's best after the Ballon d'Or split off once again to be overseen by France Football.

The FIFPro World XI is the player's award, "decided by the players, for the players".  There are no less than 55 nominees, which do include three players currently at Chelsea, albeit two who have only been here since the summer.

So, congrats to Eden Hazard, N'Golo Kanté (who's also nominated for Best FIFA Men's Player), and David Luiz.  One would think that Kanté certainly should get into the FIFPro first-team.  The winners will be announced January 9th at FIFA's annual gala.

The full list of nominees:

Claudio Bravo (Chile/FC Barcelona/Manchester City)
Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus)
David de Gea (Spain/Manchester United)
Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid)
Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich).

David Alaba (Austria/FC Bayern Munich)
Jordi Alba (Spain/FC Barcelona)
Serge Aurier (Côte d'Ivoire/Paris Saint-Germain)
Héctor Bellerìn (Spain/Arsenal)
Jérôme Boateng (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)
Leonardo Bonucci (Italy/Juventus)
Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid)
Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus)
Dani Alves (Brazil/FC Barcelona/Juventus)
David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain/Chelsea)
Diego Godín (Uruguay/Atlético Madrid)
Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund/FC Bayern Munich)
Philipp Lahm (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)
Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid)
Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona)
Pepe (Portugal/Real Madrid)
Gerard Piqué (Spain/FC Barcelona)
Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid)
Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain)
Raphaël Varane (France/Real Madrid)

Xabi Alonso (Spain/FC Bayern Munich)
Sergio Busquets (Spain/FC Barcelona)
Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City)
Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea)
Andrés Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona)
N'Golo Kanté (France/Leicester City/Chelsea)
Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid)
Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid)
Mesut Özil (Germany/Arsenal)
Dimitri Payet (France/West Ham United)
Paul Pogba (France/Juventus/Manchester United)
Ivan Rakitić (Croatia/FC Barcelona)
David Silva (Spain/Manchester City)
Marco Verratti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain)
Arturo Vidal (Chile/FC Bayern Munich)

Sergio Agüero (Argentina/Manchester City)
Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid)
Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid)
Paulo Dybala (Argentina/Juventus)
Antoine Griezmann (France/Atlético Madrid)
Gonzalo Higuaín (Argentina/Napoli/Juventus)
Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich)
Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona)
Thomas Müller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)
Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona)
Alexis Sánchez (Chile/Arsenal)
Luis Suárez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona)
Jamie Vardy (England/Leicester City)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History