clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea players on international duty: Who, when, how to watch Thursday

New, comments

Proper football's on holiday, but many Chelsea players aren't.  So if international football is your thing, listen up.  And if it isn't, you might as well, too, since there's nothing else on.

Here's who, when, and where will be playing on Thursday, October 6, 2016.

Kazakhstan U21 vs. ENGLAND U21 (2017 Euro U21 qualifying)

When: 16:00 BST; 11am EDT
Where:  Ortalıq Stadion, Aktobe, Kazakhstan
Who:  Tammy Abraham, Lewis Baker, Nathaniel Chalobah, Ruben Loftus-Cheek
How:  BT Sport 1; elsewhere

Goal-machine Tammy Abraham's first ever call-up to the U21s as England look to stay on top of their qualification group for next summer's tournament in Poland.

NETHERLANDS U21 vs. Turkey U21 (2017 Euro U21 qualifying)

When:  16:30 BST; 11:30am EDT
Where:  AFAS Stadion, Alkmaar, Netherlands
Who:  Nathan Aké
How:  Fox Sports 1 (NED); elsewhere

The Dutch youth need a win (and Ake needs some playing) to stay in the hunt for the tournament.  They're currently five points behind group leaders Slovakia with just two matches left in qualification.

Moldova vs. SERBIA (World Cup 2018 qualifying)

When:  19:45 BST; 2:45pm EDT
Where:  Stadionul Zimbru, Chişinău, Moldova
Who:  Branislav Ivanović (88)
How:  Sky Go (UK); ESPN3 (USA); elsewhere

Serbia will look to do one better than the 2-2 draw against Ireland on matchday 1.  Nemanja Matic remains suspended for two more games for his red card at the very end of a very frustrating Euro 2016 qualifying campaign.

Italy vs. SPAIN (World Cup 2018 qualifying)

When:  19:45 BST; 2:45pm EDT
Where:  Juventus Stadium, Torino, Italy
Who:  Diego Costa (12)
How:  ITV 4 (UK); Fox Sports 1 (USA); elsewhere

Third meeting already this year between the two sides after a friendly (1-1) and the famous Conte win in Euro 2016 (2-0 to the Azzurri).  Both teams won their opening match of the qualifying group, Italy beating Israel 3-1 and Spain taking care of Liechtenstein to the tune of 8-0.  Even Diego Costa scored, and he remains the only Chelsea representative in the squad after Cesc, Pedro, and Azpilicueta were all left off.

BRAZIL vs. Bolivia (World Cup 2018 qualifying)

When:  8:45pm EDT; 01:45 BST (next day)
Where:  Arena das Dunas, Natal, Brazil
Who:  Oscar (48), Willian (40)
How:  beIN Sports (USA); elsewhere

Since the summer's Copa America, Brazil have won back-to-back games for the first in over a year (and the first time in over two years if only looking at non-friendlies).  Oscar returns to the squad after an extended absence.