clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Hull City vs. Chelsea, Premier League: Confirmed lineups

New, comments
Tony Marshall/Getty Images

Here's Eden Hazard with the mission statement.

"There has been a good mood this week. We need to get back on the pitch. This is football. We started the season well, now we are a bit down, but the best way to ensure we win the game on Saturday is to train hard in the week. We've done that and now we are ready."

---

Hull City starting lineup (4-1-4-1):
Marshall | Robertson, Livermore, Davies, Meyler | Clucas | Diomande, Mason, Henriksen Snodgrass | Mbokani

Substitutes from: Jakupovic, Maguire, Huddlestone, A.Hernandez, Maloney, Weir, W.Keane

Chelsea starting lineup (4-4-2/4-2-4)
Courtois | Alonso, David Luiz, Cahill (c), Azpilicueta | Moses, Matic, Kante, Willian | Costa, Hazard

Substitutes from: Begovic, Ivanovic, Chalobah, Fabregas, Oscar, Pedro, Batshuayi

---

Date / Time: Saturday, October 1, 2016, 15:00 BST; 10am EDT; 7:30pm IST
Venue: KCOM Stadium, Kingston upon Hull, England
Referee: Anthony Taylor
On TV: none (UK); NBCSN (USA); Star Sports 4 / Select HD1 (India); elsewhere
Streaming online: NBC Sports Live Extra; Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (USA); Start Sports (India); BBC 5 Live Extra (UK; radio)

---

I'm calling this a 442/424 — i.e. two mids and two forwards — but it could just as easily be a 4-2-3-1 with Hazard or Willian playing a more traditional no.10.  But given that we've seen the two mid/two striker look a few times before, including with Hazard as second striker, I'm going with that.

In other news, Ivanovic drops out in favor of Marcos Alonso, while Victor Moses gets his first start in the league.  Both Oscar and Fabregas are on the bench.

COME ON, CHELSEA!