On Tuesday, the FA upheld the one-match suspension to Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois, after the Blues appealed the suspension for his red card against Swansea City. The FA issued the following statement on their website, explaining the decision:
A claim of wrongful dismissal submitted by Chelsea in relation to Thibaut Courtois has been unsuccessful following an Independent Regulatory Commission hearing earlier today.
The goalkeeper was dismissed for denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity in the 52nd minute of Chelsea’s game against Swansea City at Stamford Bridge on Saturday (8 August 2015).
Therefore, the player’s one-match suspension, which is the standard penalty for this offence, remains with immediate effect.
For a club to be successful with a claim of wrongful dismissal, it must prove to an Independent Regulatory Commission via written and/or video evidence that the match referee made an obvious error.
Courtois will now miss Chelsea's trip to Manchester City this weekend, meaning that Asmir Begovic will make his first Chelsea start in one of the most difficult matches of the season, with academy product Jamal Blackman expected to be the backup.
It wasn't ever likely that the FA would overturn the suspension, but hopefully at some point in the near future, they'll get rid of this ridiculous rule that requires a simple trip 18-yards from goal to result in a penalty, a sending off, and a suspension on top of it. It's a ridiculous amount of punishment for the offense, though ridiculous seems to be commonplace with England's governing body.
Regardless, it's nice to have a solid backup for Courtois, as these things happen from time to time.