clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eden Hazard wins FWA Footballer of the Year award

Clive Mason/Getty Images

More recognition incoming!  Another award to put in Eden Hazard's ever increasing trophy cabinet.  This time, it's the journalists — "football writers" — all 400 strong, who have ended up voting exactly like the players.  Players and writers all agree, Eden Hazard is the best in the land!

We already knew that he's the best, but I suppose it's nice to hear that back from others who matter in the football world as well.

"A creator, a goalscorer and the hardest of workers, Hazard has been a constant source of threat for the Barclays Premier League champions. But it is not just his trickery, his pace, his artistry and his marksmanship that make Hazard such an invaluable component of Jose Mourinho's Chelsea squad, it is his durability. Hazard has started all 36 Premier League matches and, considering the particularly close attention he receives from opponents, that is a feat in itself."

"But, of course, it is his electrifying, attacking talent that has made Eden the first Belgian to win the Footballer of the Year award. He is a brilliant successor to Luis Suarez and we just hope he stays in the Premier League for a lot longer than Luis did after collecting the trophy."

-Andy Dunn, FWA chairman

There's decent correlation between players winning both the PFA and the FWA awards.  Scott Parker in 2011 was the last to not win both.  Incidentally, the last time a Chelsea player was named the FWA award recipient, he also did not win the Players' award (Frank Lampard in 2005, losing to John Terry, of all people).  Before Lampard, Gianfranco Zola also won this award once (1997).

In any case, congrats, Eden!  Now, back to your vacation.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History