clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mourinho: Matic picked up ankle injury during League Cup celebrations

Clive Mason/Getty Images

Nemanja Matic's suspension ruled him out of the 1-0 win against West Ham on Wednesday, but as it turns out he wouldn't have been able to play without Ashley Barnes' attempt at medieval doctoring. As Jose Mourinho revealed after the match, Matic turns out to have gotten himself injured. Despite not being allowed to play. How? This is pretty amusing:

Matic is injured and he got an injury celebrating the cup. I'm not kidding. It's not a big injury, but he couldn't have played against West Ham. He twisted his ankle. If he had not been suspended, he could not have played. On the pitch. He had shinpads on, but he didn't have tape on.

Source: Mail.

Well, I say amusing, but Matic hurting himself during trophy celebrations would be far less funny if he was out for any significant time. Fortunately, he won't be -- the manager say he'll be ready to play against Paris Saint-Germain next week, and with an FA Cup weekend coming up Matic will be plenty of rest.

Still, he should learn to celebrate better, because there will hopefully be plenty more trophies to lift in his time here.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History