clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Individual awards go to Azpilicueta, Baker, Paulo Ferreira, and Eden Hazard

Julian Finney

It's awards time! We've already seen the Goal of the Year award handed out this evening, so now it's time for the individual honours.

Cesar Azpilicueta has won the coveted Players' Player of the Year award, presumably for being such a good left back that he kept Ashley Cole out of the side for most of the season despite playing out of position, which is impressive enough to deserve recognition. Perhaps Chelsea's best signing over the past few seasons.

Meanwhile, Lewis Baker -- who also won goal of the season for his recent strike against the Arsenal under-21s -- claimed Young Player of the Year and the legend of Paulo Ferreira grew some more as he picked up the Special Recognition Award.

The biggest prize, however, goes to Eden Hazard, who rather unsurprisingly won fans' player of the year. For a few months, Hazard was probably the best player in the Premier League, and although he tailed off a bit towards the end of the season, it's difficult to imagine what we would have done without the Belgian.

Congratulations to everyone involved!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History