clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chelsea duo make England squad


The FA have announced the 23-man squad Roy Hodgson will be leading to the latest installment of national shame the 2014 World Cup. With Ashley Cole omitted and then retiring from international football, there were only two players left in serious consideration, and they both made it. And yes, it's pretty obvious who those two players are: Frank Lampard and Gary Cahill.

One would expect Cahill to be a regular starter for England throughout the tournament, while I imagine Lampard will see more situational use, but the Three Lions really would be better off with another two Chelsea defenders in the side. Ah well -- they're going for youth, which is exactly what you want to hear when you're competing for a trophy that only comes around once every four years.

Here's the squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster, Ben Foster, Joe Hart
Defenders: Leighton Baines, Gary Cahill, Phil Jagielka, Glen Johnson, Phil Jones, Luke Shaw, Chris Smalling
Midfielders: Ross Barkley, Steven Gerrard, Jordan Henderson, Adam Lallana, Frank Lampard, James Milner, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Raheem Sterling, Jack Wilshere
Forwards: Rickie Lambert, Wayne Rooney, Daniel Sturridge, Danny Welbeck.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History