clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Liverpool vs. Chelsea: Squad news, TV & streaming information, preview

Who, what, where, when?

Getty Images

Because nobody but Jose Mourinho really knows what Chelsea are aiming to do at Anfield later, it's a little bit pointless to try to offer any analysis ahead of it. All we know is that it'll probably be fun, assuming the players have got any sleep through the supposed mass of Liverpool supporters gathered around their hotel.

Look for Liverpool to attack constantly, while Chelsea defend and try to make use of counter attacks. If Chelsea or City are to have any chance of pipping the Reds to the Premier League title, though, it's a match Chelsea have to win.

Opponent: Liverpool Football Club

Date/Time: Sunday, 27 April, 2014, at 14:05 BST (9:05 a.m. EST, 6:05 a.m. PST, 18:35 IST)

Venue: Anfield, Liverpool, England

Weather: Cool, light rain, a little breezy, nothing to be overly-concerned by.

On TV: Sky Sports 1 (UK); NBCSN (USA); Star Sports 4, Star Sports HD 2 (India); elsewhere

Online: Sky Go (UK), NBC Sports Live Extra (USA); Star Sports (India)

Liverpool team news: Jose Enrique is a long-term injury victim, while Daniel Sturridge faces a fitness battle.  Jordan Henderson is suspended (big miss) and Victor Moses is ineligible due to his loan terms (not so much of a big miss).

View from the enemy: Liverpool Offside

Chelsea team news: After skating by most of the season with hardly an injury, there's suddenly a deluge of them.  Petr Cech is out for the season.  John Terry, Eden Hazard, Samuel Eto'o are not, but are out for this trip at least.  Ramires is suspended for the rest of the domestic season.

The four players who won't be eligible for Wednesday's second leg are Frank Lampard, Mikel, Nemanja Matic, and Mohamed Salah.  Most of them will probably start then at Anfield.

Referee: Martin Atkinson

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History