clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Fulham vs. Chelsea: Preview, squad news, television, streaming, weather, and more

New, comments

Chelsea take on the worst team in the Premier League on Saturday

Richard Heathcote

Fulham are a terrible team at the moment. There really isn't any other way to put it. Fulham don't keep possession of the ball, they're weak defending out wide, through the center, and on set pieces. They're also surprisingly open on the counterattack for a team that rarely has the ball, and largely because of all of this, they're at the bottom of the league in terms of both shots and goals conceded.

The Cottagers don't have a whole lot going for them offensively either, averaging only one goal per game and sitting ahead of only Stoke in terms of shots attempted. It's no surprise that they sit at the very bottom of the Premier League table and look a safe bet to be relegated this season.

Because of this, Chelsea fans will expect nothing less than three points on Saturday.  Most will be expecting them to get those points in relatively comfortable fashion as well, despite being at Craven Cottage.

Chelsea will have seven days between Fulham and their game against Tottenham, but some rotation may be in order due to several annoying midweek friendlies. Nemanja Matic and Mohamed Salah could both be in line for starts, given that they both had Wednesday's match against Galatasaray off.

Opponent: Fulham, currently 20th with 21 points from 27 matches

Date/Time: Saturday, March 1, 2014, at 15:00 GMT (10:00 a.m. EST, 7:00 a.m. PST, 20:30 IST)

Venue: Craven Cottage, London, England

View from the enemy: Cottagers Confidential

Weather: Reasonable temperatures with very little chance of rain

Chelsea squad news: Marco van Ginkel is out, while David Luiz is still questionable. Everyone else should be available on Saturday.

Fulham squad news: Damien Duff, Matthew Briggs, and Fernando Amorebieta will all miss Saturday's match due to various injuries. Oh well.

Television and streaming: NBCSN and NBC Sports Live Extra (US), Chelsea TV (Audio only for subscribers), Star Sports 4 (India), This link (everywhere else)