clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

West Brom vs. Chelsea: Preview, squad news, television, streaming, weather, and more

New, comments

Everything you need to know ahead of Tuesday's match with West Brom

Warren Little

Chelsea will head to West Bromwich Albion on Tuesday, with a win ensuring they will remain atop the Premier League table as we enter the final third of the season. The away fixture against West Brom has been bad luck for recent Chelsea managers, with both Roberto Di Matteo and Andre Villas-Boas being sacked after losing that game.

Jose Mourinho should feel a bit more comfortable than either of that pair, having gone unbeaten in his last eleven. What's more, Chelsea have only allowed a single goal in 2014, and that was a meaningless consolation prize for a Manchester United team that had already conceded three.

West Brom aren't playing quite as well as Chelsea at the moment, and are quickly working their way into the relegation discussion. In November, Steve Clarke's side came within second of defeating Chelsea at home, before a last second penalty allowed the Blues to escape with a point. Since that disappointment, they've won only once in 15 contests, and have sacked Clarke as well.

In all, Chelsea have won 54, drawn 34, and lost 42 against West Brom. That record stands at 22-16-25 away from Stamford Bridge though, with a -28 GD. We'll be hoping Chelsea can improve on that record tomorrow. Here's everything you need to know ahead of Tuesday's game:

Opponent: West Bromwich Albion, currently 18th with just 23 pts and a -8 GD

Venue/Location: The Hawthorns, West Bromwich, England

Date/Time: Tuesday, February 11, 2014 at 19:45 GMT (2:45 p.m. EST, 11:45 a.m. PST, 01:15 IST on February 12)

Forecast: Cold, windy, and possibly rainy. Yay.

Chelsea FC squad news: John Terry and Marco van Ginkel are out. Fernando Torres is healthy. Everyone else should be available, assuming they aren't up all night with Olivier Giroud or getting punched in the eye by Yaya Sanogo.

West Brom squad news: Stephane Sessegnon and Nicholas Anelka are out. Billy Jones and Jonas Olsson are both facing late fitness tests. No West Brom players are currently suspended.

How to watch/listen: In the US, NBCSN and NBC Sports Live Extra have you covered. In the UK, you're going to have to listen on BBC Radio 5 or Chelsea TV. Indian fans can watch on Star SPorts 4 or Star Sports 2 HD. Anyone else can check this link.