clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The Top 100 Goals of 2013 / Saturday FA Cup Open Thread

New, comments
Michael Steele

It's FA Cup time! Woohoo! Get ready for another healthy dose of announcers telling you in reverent tones that it's the oldest or the most revered or the most exciting some such of some such else. Respect!

In the end, it's another knockout competition, and knockout competitions have this sneaky habit of serving up upsets, and so, it can be pretty exciting. It can also be pretty boring, like when Manchester City beats down Blackburn Rovers 17-0 over the next couple hours. And without Todd Kane, Blackburn really have no chance. In the USA, this one's available on FOX Sports 1; in the UK, it's on BT Sport 1 (7:45am EST; 12:45 GMT).

That matchup is small potatoes though compared to the main event, an FA Cup flavored North London Derby at the Emirates Stadium (12:15pm EST; 17:15 GMT). FOX has been kind enough to put this one on network TV even, while in the UK, it'll be on ITV 1.

Those are just two of the 25 matches scheduled. Plenty of options; here's the full list.

In addition, if you're looking for some light entertainment, check out this fun video of the Top 100 goals of 2013 (as chosen by the video's creator of course). Keep your eyes peeled for Demba Ba's acrobatics and David Luiz's howitzers, with glimpses of a few other friends old and new (Drogba, Chalobah, Matic to name a few).