clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Steaua Bucharest vs. Chelsea: Preview, squad news, television, streaming, and more

New, comments

Everything you need to know ahead of Chelsea's second Champions League clash this season

Martin Rose

Chelsea will take on Steaua Bucharest tomorrow as they attempt to bounce back from a disappointing start to their Champions League campaign. The Blues surprisingly lost their opening fixture at home 2-1 to Basel, while the Romanian side got hammered 3-0 by Schalke 04. While it's still far too early to start calling any contest a "must-win", taking maximum points off of what is likely the weakest team in the group would still be a good idea.

Opponent: Steaua Bucharest, 1st place Romanian League, 0 pts in group

Date/Time: Tuesday, October 1st, 2013 at 19:45 BST (2:45 pm EST, 11:45 am PST, 00:15 IST October 2)

Venue/Location: National Arena, Bucharest, Romania

Predicted weather: Relatively cold with a 100% chance of rain. Sounds fun, no?

Chelsea FC squad news: Marco van Ginkel will be out of action for a while, and yesterday we got word that Kevin De Bruyne has been left in London for this one. Other than that pair, everyone named to Chelsea's Champions League squad will be available (Michael Essien was not named to the squad).

Update: It looks as if Eden Hazard may not be available either after getting stepped on against Tottenham

Steaua Bucharest squad news: Steaua will be without the services of a pair of players for this one. Neither Stefan Nikolic or Alexandru Chipciu will be available due to injury, while the rest of the squad should all be good to go.

Television listings: In the United States, FS2 will have you covered in English (assuming it's actually available in your area), and Fox Deportes will have you covered in Spanish. Sky Sports 4 HD has the game in the UK, while Ten HD has it in India. For any other areas, check the listings here.

Streaming information: US viewers need to have a subscription to Fox Soccer 2 Go in order to stream the game, which is kind of ridiculous considering how little that actually gets you. In the UK, Sky Go will stream the contest, and Chelsea TV will have pre and post-game coverage along with live audio.

More from We Ain't Got No History: