clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea vs. Aston Villa: Preview, squad news, television and streaming information, weather, community lineups, and more

New, comments

Everything you need to know in advance of Chelsea's game against Aston Villa on Wednesday.

Michael Regan

Chelsea got the second Jose Mourinho era underway with a victory on Sunday, and they'll look to make it six points from two fixtures when Paul Lambert's side comes to town tomorrow. The Blues will be heavy favorites at home, and here's everything you need to know in advance of the season's second game.

Opponent/SB Nation Blog: Aston Villa Football Club, read about them at 7500 to Holte, an Aston Villa blog

Date/Time: Wednesday, August 21, 2013 at 19:45 BST, 2:45 pm EST, 11:45 am PST. Thursday August 22, 2013 at 00:15 IST. Use this time zone converter to figure out when the game is starting wherever you happen to be.

Venue/Location: Stamford Bridge, London, England

Weather Forecast: As of right now, it looks as if we can expect a beautiful day in London.

Aston Villa Squad News: The Villians had a trio of players miss the opening day victory against Arsenal, with all of Yacouba Sylla, Chris Herd, and Charles N'Zogbia unable to take part. There is no word yet on whether they'll be ready to go tomorrow, and Natthan Baker is also a concern after leaving the Arsenal game with an ankle injury.

Chelsea FC Squad News: Tomas Kalas is still out for the foreseeable future, and Jose Mourinho has ruled David Luiz out of action for this one. Since the boss didn't mention any other players as being out in today's press conference, I'd assume the rest of the squad is fit and ready to go.

WAGNH Community Lineup: Over 2,500 of you voted, and here is the lineup you selected to face Aston Villa...

Starting XI - Petr Cech, Branislav Ivanovic, John Terry, Gary Cahill, Ashley Cole, Marco van Ginkel, Ramires, Oscar, Eden Hazard, Juan Mata, Romelu Lukaku

Bench - Mark Schwarzer, Frank Lampard, Andre Schurrle, Fernando Torres, Demba Ba, Kevin De Bruyne, Cesar Azpilicueta

Television Information: In the US, the game can be found on NBCSN. In India, you can choose between Star Sports and ESPN HD. You can find the listings in other locations here.

Streaming Information: The US will have a "live" stream on NBC Sports Live Extra. They ran on a 2 minute delay during the opening weekend, which was more than a little irritating with all of the live updates out there now. Chelsea TV will have a live audio feed during the game as well.

More from We Ain't Got No History: