clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hazard and Mata named in PFA Team of the Year

Clive Rose

Team of the year awards are always amusing, and even though footballers are theoretically experts when it comes to the sport they still don't seem to do very well in picking them. Still, a couple of Chelsea players have made the list, so we're here to congratulate them. Step forward, Eden Hazard and Juan Mata.

Before we get into specifics, here's the full team:

David de Gea; Leighton Baines, Jan Vertonghen, Rio Ferdinand, Pablo Zabaleta; Michael Carrick, Juan Mata; Gareth Bale, Luis Suarez, Eden Hazard; Robin van Persie.

Which is... well, kind of weird (Mata in the pivot, anyone?). You could argue that Chelsea are under-representated, and I certainly will: Both Petr Cech and David Luiz have had much better seasons that de Gea and Ferdinand, but I'm not going to get too worked up about it because hey this is the PFA Team of the Year awards and I really don't care.

But well done to Hazard and Mata, who've both been excellent. I like thinking about how excellent that pair is, and so, I suspect, do the rest of you. So close your eyes and take a moment to think through all the incredible things they done this season.

Yep, we've got some good ones.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History