clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

And now for something completely different / Football / Saturday Open Thread

New, comments
MONACO - AUGUST 31: Chelsea manager Roberto Di Matteo (L) looks on from the bench during the UEFA Super Cup match between Chelsea and Atletico Madrid at Louis II Stadium on August 31, 2012 in Monaco, Monaco. (Photo by Chris Brunskill/Getty Images)
MONACO - AUGUST 31: Chelsea manager Roberto Di Matteo (L) looks on from the bench during the UEFA Super Cup match between Chelsea and Atletico Madrid at Louis II Stadium on August 31, 2012 in Monaco, Monaco. (Photo by Chris Brunskill/Getty Images)
Getty Images

Well, it's all over but for the shouting/crying. Friday has been consigned to the annals of history, as Chelsea closed out the summer transfer window with a bit of a whimper and got run off the pitch in their second ever Super Cup exhibition match with a painful wail of ineptitude.

Let's turn our attention to the rest of the Premier League for a bit*, all of whom are playing catch-up to Chelsea's perfect record. Everton & Swansea City, the two other teams with 100% records, are both in action in the traditional 3pm kickoff slot (10am EDT). They're joined by AVB's Spurs (now with added Clint Dempsey and Hugo Lloris, neither of whom will feature), while Manchester City have the late kickoff. But first, it's a cross-London match-up:


West Ham United vs. Fulham, 12:45pm BST / 7:45am EDT

Swansea City - Sunderland, 3pm BST / 10am EDT

Tottenham Hotspur - Norwich City, 3pm BST / 10am EDT

West Bromwich Albion - Everton, 3pm BST / 10am EDT

Wigan Athletic - Stoke City, 3pm BST / 10am EDT

Manchester City - Queens Park Rangers, 5:30pm BST / 12:30pm EDT

* plenty of action around the rest of Europe as well