clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Compelling Cup Cornucopia - Your Wednesday League/King's/Italy Cup Open Thread

New, comments

Talk amongst yourselves while watching potentially dramatic mid-week action in England, Spain, and Italy.

First up (2:45pm EST / 11:45am PST on FSC), we have the 2nd Leg of the League Cup semifinal between the Lolloping Beatles and the Stamping Herd of Mancs. Thanks to Anthony Gerrard's cousin, Liverpool hold a 1-0 lead...but based on their performance over the weekend, that may not mean much. City will probably be without the 21st Century Cantona whose 4-match suspension takes effect immediately. But maybe he can go hang out and compare notes with Luis Suarez in the stands.

At the same time in Italy (and on ESPN3), we have the most frustrating team outside of Chelsea in action against the Tinkerman's latest project. While I do love me some Ranieri (and he has picked up the pieces admirably), I want Napoli to succeed...if for nothing else then to provide a bit of distraction leading up our Champions League matchups with them. The Italians run their Cup single-elimination style, so a winner will have to be determined today.

Last but certainly not least (4pm EST / 1pm PST on ESPN3), we have another Jersey Shore "Clasico" in Spain, with Barca holding a 2-1 lead. That first leg was a poor excuse for "football" and I'm guessing we'll see more of the same. Hair pulling, broken nails, petulance, handbags, simulation, stamping, cheating...football's finest teams! Over/under on Pepe's red card is 45 minutes...and I say he does not make it out of the first half.