clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chelsea FC See May Fixture Dates Moved

Getty Images

Chelsea have already had a few matches moved around to accommodate the need for live television broadcasts, but their schedules have been further disrupted with two games in May each moved from a Saturday to a Sunday.

The big match is of course the Blues' trip to Old Trafford to visit Manchester United, which had originally been scheduled for Saturday May 7th at 3:00 PM GMT but will now be held on the 8th at 4:10 PM GMT (8:10 AM PST). If you feel as though that one day wait for what could be the most important match of the season is just too long, fear not, however, as we're due to play United twice in the Champions League between now and then anyway.

The other match that's been moved is decidedly less sexy: Chelsea host Newcastle United at Stamford Bridge in the penultimate game of the season, and that's been switched from Saturday May 14st to Sunday May 15th at 1:30 PM GMT (5:30 AM PST). We could probably touch on the ethics of the likes of Sky Sports being able to fiddle with the fixture list whenever they feel like it, but frankly they're the ones paying for the clubs to keep playing so my moral outrage meter isn't registering that high here.

Mark those revised times down in your calendar, anyway.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History