clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Drogba to be part of PFA tribute to Rooney

PFA announces shortslist for its player of the year award. Usual suspects - Carlos Tevez, Cesc Fabregas, Didier Drogba - make cut. All wasting their time with Wayne Rooney on the card.

Yes, Rooney appears a certain to claim this year's PFA award. English, world class, world cup year? What else do you need. When If Rooney wins, it would be the fourth consecutive PFA players award for a Manchester United man. Blah.

Still, there are three other fine candidates including our beloved Drogs. The man is looking at his most prolific season to date for Chelsea in a season where the club could capture its first-ever domestic double.

Take a look at the stats:
Rooney: 2472 minutes played, 26 goals and 5 assists
Drogba: 2411 minutes played, 25 goals and 11 assists

If that doesn't speak to you, then I don't know what will. Regardless, the winner will be announced soon. Watch this space.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the We Ain't Got No History Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Chelsea news from We Ain't Got No History