Chelsea players on midweek international duty: how & when to watch Monday and Tuesday

Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

Who, what, where, when ... and why. Previewing the midweek international action - the last one, thankfully, for a while - from the Chelsea angle.

Italy vs. NIGERIA

Who: Mikel (54), Victor Moses (16), Kenneth Omeruo (15)
When: Monday, November 18, 2013, 19:45 GMT; 2:45pm EST
Where: Craven Cottage, London, UK
How: beIN Sport (USA)

Why: A rather oddly timed friendly between two nations meeting just for the second time (first one was the memorable 2-1 at USA '94) in a somewhat odd location; chances are that both coaches will field all the players who didn't play on Saturday. Nigeria will no doubt celebrate their World Cup qualification by playing like they don't care. Italy meanwhile will donate the proceeds to help the victims of Typhoon Haiyan, which is nice.

Egypt vs. GHANA

Who: Michael Essien (54), Christian Atsu (20)
When: Tuesday, November 19, 2013, 16:00 GMT; 11am EST
Where: Cairo Military Academy Stadium, Cairo, Egypt
How: BT Sport 2 (UK); beIN Sport (USA)

Why: Technically, Egypt are still alive but Ghana did romp to a 6-1 first leg victory, so this one's pretty much just a formality.

Algeria vs. BURKINA FASO

Who: Bertrand Traoré (10)
When: Tuesday, November 19, 2013, 18:15 GMT; 1:15pm EST
Where: Stade Mustapha Tchaker, Blida, Algeria
How: BT Sport 2 (UK); beIN Sport (USA)

Why: The Stallions of THOUSAND UPPER VOLTA - including Chelsea's newest player (now official) - will be hoping to make it the World Cup for the first time ever. They hold a precious yet precarious 3-2 lead from the first leg.

South Africa vs. SPAIN

Who: Juan Mata (31)
When: Tuesday, November 19, 2013, 19:00 GMT; 2pm EST
Where: Soccer City, Johannesburg, South Africa
How: ESPN3 (USA)

Why: Spain continue their tour of Africa, heading back down south to the country where they won the World Cup three years ago. Del Bosque's men made heavy work of Equatorial Guinea on the weekend, although Mata did get himself an assist.

NETHERLANDS vs. Colombia

Who: Patrick van Aanholt (0)
When: Tuesday, November 19, 2013, 19:30 GMT; 2:30pm EST
Where: Amsterdam Arena, Amsterdam, Netherlands
How: ESPN3 (USA)

Why: It's been a while since a Chelsea player got to pull on the famous orange on the Netherlands, but 23-year-old loanee and Vitesse standout Patrick van Aanholt has every chance to break that streak with his first ever cap. Colombia will be looking to do the Benelux double, after their show of clinical finishing in the 2-0 win over Belgium and their exposed, subpar full backs. Good luck, PvA!

More from our team sites

ENGLAND vs. GERMANY

Who: Ashley Cole (105), Frank Lampard (103), Gary Cahill (22) - André Schürrle (29)
When: Tuesday, November 19, 2013, 20:00 GMT; 3:00pm EST
Where: Wembley Stadium, London, UK
How: FOX Sports 1 (USA); ITV 1 (UK)

Why: Finally we shall find out if England can win the World Cup! If they win, the title is theirs. If they lose, they will lose all three of their group matches by a combined 22-0 score.

BELGIUM vs. Japan

Who: Eden Hazard (41), Romelu Lukaku (25), Kevin De Bruyne (18), Thibaut Courtois (14)
When: Tuesday, November 19, 2013, 20:00 GMT; 3:00pm EST
Where: Stade Roi Baudouin, Brussels, Belgium
How: N/A

Why: For whatever random reason, this match isn't too widely available and as of now, it won't even be shown on ESPN3. It's ok, I'll probably be watching Iceland - Croatia or Sweden - Portugal anyway.

BRAZIL vs. Chile

Who: Ramires (39), David Luiz (32), Oscar (27), Willian (3)
When: Tuesday, November 19, 2013, 8:00pm EST; 01:00 GMT (next day)
Where: Rogers Centre, Toronto, Canada
How: beIN Sport (USA); BT Sport 2 (UK)

Why: Despite the Canadian referee letting Honduras treat Brazil as a kick bag, the Samba Boys head north to Canada for a tasty clash with the always exciting Chileans. Hold on to your tuques, this one could be fun, eh?

---

Most of the usual youth suspects may be in action as well in various U21 and U19 matches but the one name we should mention is Patrick Bamford, who has received his maiden call into the English U21 squad. While this does not bode well for fans who wanted to see him in an Ireland shirt, our hearty congratulations go to young Patrick for this well-deserved honor. Bamford and the English youth will take on San Marino U21 on Tuesday (18:00 GMT; 1pm EST - BT Sport 1; Fox Soccer 2 Go).

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join We Ain't Got No History

You must be a member of We Ain't Got No History to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at We Ain't Got No History. You should read them.

Join We Ain't Got No History

You must be a member of We Ain't Got No History to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at We Ain't Got No History. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker