Chelsea players on international duty: how & when to watch this weekend

Soon. - Buda Mendes

Who, what, where, when ... and why. Previewing the weekend's international action from the Chelsea angle.

BELGIUM vs. Colombia

Who: Eden Hazard (40), Romelu Lukaku (24), Kevin De Bruyne (17), Thibaut Courtois (14)
When: Thursday, November 14, 2013, 20:00 GMT; 3pm EST
Where: Stade Roi Baudouin, Brussels, Belgium
How: ESPN3 (USA)

Why: This one's coming up fairly soon, namely in just six hours. Mourinho is supposed to be in attendance although your guess as to why is as good as any that's being "reported." Courtois, while officially in the squad, won't feature thanks to a minor ankle problem.

CZECH REPUBLIC vs. Canada

Who: Petr Cech (105)
When: Friday, November 15, 2013, 16:00 GMT; 11am EST
Where: Andrův stadion, Olomouc, Czech Republic
How: N/A (USA), Sportsnet One (CAN)

Why: Talk about picking random opposition for a friendly match. Canada it is! Alrighty then; should be interesting, said no one ever.

Russia vs. SERBIA

Who: Branislav Ivanovic (66)
When: Friday, November 15, 2013, 16:30 GMT; 11:30am EST
Where: Zabeel Stadium, Dubai, UAE
How: N/A

Why: More random friendly action, this time more in terms of location. Dubai it is! Alrighty then.

Italy vs. GERMANY

Who: André Schürrle (28)
When: Friday, November 15, 2013, 19:30 GMT; 2:30pm EST
Where: Stadio Giuseppe Meazza, Milan, Italy
How: Univision Deportes, RAI International (USA)

Why: Two big names of international football meet on a not so big occasion. Could be either super fun and open and super bad and boring. Hopefully it's the former. Schürrle has four goals in his last two appearances for Germany, so I'm sure he'll be looking to continue his scoring spree.

ENGLAND vs. Chile

Who: Ashley Cole (105), Frank Lampard (102), Gary Cahill (21)
When: Friday, November 15, 2013, 20:00 GMT; 3pm EST
Where: Wembley Stadium, London, UK
How: FOX Sports 1 (USA); ITV 1 (UK)

Why: Just a friendly and probably not as fun as England vs. Poland was.

NIGERIA vs. Ethiopia

Who: Mikel (53), Victor Moses (15), Kenneth Omeruo (14)
When: Saturday, November 16, 2013, 15:00 GMT; 10am EST
Where: U. J. Esuene Stadium, Calabar, Nigeria
How: beIN Sport (USA); BT Sport 2 (UK)

Why: While there are no Chelsea players involved in the European playoffs, we do have plenty of representation in the African ones. In this one, Nigeria hold a slim 2-1 away leg lead. Omeruo is expected to return from injury.

Equatorial Guinea vs. SPAIN

Who: Juan Mata (30)
When: Saturday, November 16, 2013, 21:00 GMT; 4pm EST
Where: Nuevo Estadio de Malabo, Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
How: ESPN3 (USA)

Why: Spain return to their ex-colony, this time for a more friendly conquering.

Honduras vs. BRAZIL

Who: Ramires (38), David Luiz (31), Oscar (26), Willian (2)
When: Saturday, November 16, 2013, 7:30pm EST; 00:30 GMT (next day)
Where: Sun Life Stadium, Miami, USA
How: beIN Sport (USA); BT Sport 2 (UK)

Why: Recently impressive Willian gets Scolari's call and is in line to make just his third ever appearance for his country in this friendly. It pays to move to Chelsea in more ways than one, eh?

CAMEROON vs. Tunisia

Who: Samuel Eto'o (113)
When: Sunday, November 17, 2013, 14:00 GMT; 9am EST
Where: Stade Ahmadou Ahidjo, Yaoundé, Cameroon
How: beIN Sport (USA); BT Sport 1 (UK)

Why: Sneaky Sam will try to poach a few goals to ensure a trip to Brazil. The first leg finished 0-0, which does give the edge to the Indomitable Lions.

---

As usual, we could fill another post and a half with all the youth internationals as well. They are as follows:

  • England U21: Nathaniel Chalobah
  • England U19: Ola Aina, Lewis Baker, Mitchell Beeney, John Swift
  • Wales U19: Chike Kandi
  • Croatia U21: Stipe Perica, Matej Delac
  • Czech Republic U21: Tomas Kalas
  • Belgium U21: Thorgan Hazard
  • Netherlands U21: Nathan Ake
  • Denmark U21: Andreas Christensen
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join We Ain't Got No History

You must be a member of We Ain't Got No History to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at We Ain't Got No History. You should read them.

Join We Ain't Got No History

You must be a member of We Ain't Got No History to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at We Ain't Got No History. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker