Friday Internationals Open Thread

Hey ma, I'm on TV! - Vladimir Rys

Hey you! Yes, you. Wakey wakey. It's time for some football! Wash that boredom away.

Kind of.

Sort of.

At least it's exciting as the European qualifying groups start coming down to the wire. A few groups are set, but some aren't and should make for some extra international excitement. If you're into that whole scene.

Here's what I'll be watching, although there's a rather long list of fixtures from which you can choose to your heart's and screen's content.

Going to kick things off with a breakfast of Belgian waffles (9am PDT; 17:00 BST). Hazard & Lukaku & Co are just a point away from qualifying for the World Cup although that's by no means a guarantee against Croatia. The two nations managed just a 1-1 draw earlier in the campaign, right back Guillaume Gillet (one of only three Belgium-based players in the squad) canceling out Ivan Perisic's opener, which was the first of only two times that Belgium have conceded so far.

When that's done, I shall check in with the start of Netherlands vs. Hungary (11:30am PDT; 19:30 BST). It's one versus two in Group D, although the Dutch have already punched their tickets, while the Hungarians (who do still control their destiny) ... well, they pretty much need a miracle - i.e. a win - here. Hungary haven't beaten the Netherlands since 1984 and have shipped at least four goals to the men in orange in their last five meetings. Not in the FACE!

As I expect that exercise to get out of hand rather quickly, I'll probably switch over to England vs. Montenegro (12pm PDT; 20:00 BST). Group H is where most of the fun of qualifying's at with the top four teams - with just two matches remaining each - separated by three points.

USA vs. Jamaica (3:30pm PDT; 23:30 BST) will complete my day's schedule. Should be fun.

Discuss.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join We Ain't Got No History

You must be a member of We Ain't Got No History to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at We Ain't Got No History. You should read them.

Join We Ain't Got No History

You must be a member of We Ain't Got No History to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at We Ain't Got No History. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker