Coming to America: The Chelsea 25

I wonder if they flew Delta.

Pre-season! It's so close, finally; you can practically smell it! Both the U-18s and the U-21s of Chelsea are in action today while the first team has left on a jet plane, heading west, turning left at Greenland, and landing in America in a few short hours. First destination is Seattle. The full schedule of the tour:

  1. Seattle, WA: v. Seattle Sounders at CenturyLink Field. Wednesday, July 18th, 6:30pm PDT / 2:30am BST (Thursday)
  2. New York, NY: v. Paris St.-Germain at Yankee Stadium. Sunday, July 22nd, 7pm EDT / 12am BST (Monday)
  3. Philadelphia, PA: v. MLS All-Stars at PPL Park. Wednesday, July 25th, 8:30pm EDT / 1:30am BST (Thursday)
  4. Miami, FL: v. AC Milan at Sun Life Stadium. Saturday, July 28th, 6pm EDT / 11pm BST

That's four matches in 10 days so Chelsea are traveling with a suitably large squad. 25 players departed today, with 5 more looking to join up somewhere in the middle. These five - Ashley Cole, Florent Malouda, Raul Meireles, John Terry, Fernando Torres - were all involved in Euro 2012, so the extra rest is more than warranted. All three new signings are on board and they are joined by several young faces including Nathaniel Chalobah, who is still just 17. Four first teamers - Ryan Bertrand, Juan Mata, Oriol Romeu, Daniel Sturridge - do miss due to their upcoming Olympic involvement.

The full roster:

Goalkeepers: Petr Cech, Ross Turnbull, Hilario, Jamal Blackman
Defenders: Gary Cahill, Nathaniel Chalobah, Paulo Ferreira, Sam Hutchinson, Branislav Ivanovic, Todd Kane, David Luiz
Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne, Michael Essien, Frank Lampard, Josh McEachran, John Obi Mikel, Ramires, George Saville
Attackers: Patrick Bamford, Yossi Benayoun, Eden Hazard, Gael Kakuta, Romelu Lukaku, Marko Marin, Lucas Piazon

Exciting!

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join We Ain't Got No History

You must be a member of We Ain't Got No History to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at We Ain't Got No History. You should read them.

Join We Ain't Got No History

You must be a member of We Ain't Got No History to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at We Ain't Got No History. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker